The history of Sunset Drive United Methodist Church goes back to the year of 1888. Here are some highlights:
- In 1889 the church was officially organized and added to the Singers Glen Circuit
- The church was originally an Evangelical United Brethren Church, becoming United Methodist in 1968 with the merger of the EUB and Methodist Churches
- The Church grew significantly through the 1940’s and the building was expanded
- The congregation moved to current location at Sunset Drive: groundbreaking for the current sanctuary was October 20, 1963
- The fellowship hall was added in 2007 as ministry activities continued to grow and expand
Sunset Drive has a proud history of nurturing persons as they discover meaning and purpose in life, while serving persons in our community and the world so that all people may come to know the love of Christ. Come join us as together we spiritually grow.
Read or download the history recently compiled (2013) by the Shenandoah University Archives Services: